the good, the bad and the ugly

So the good news is that we got the xtracycle back today.  Isak waited at the police station for me (my first day back to school and alland collected the bike marked “evidence” that the officer on duty at the property room was glad to get rid of.  Takes a great deal more space to store an Xtracycle than is available in such a room, I guess.  Reports filled out, charges filed, detectives assigned, receipts collected.

The damage amounts to this:  the rim of the rear wheel makes an S– bent at one end like someone stomped on it–and definitely has to be replaced.  The frame seems intact, but Dearest worried upon first gander that it may be bent where the freeradical meets the Specialized frame.  We’ll get a professional wrench to check out the damage and give us an estimate.  All my wonderful blinkies on the rear of the bike are gone.  The red roundabout has also been stomped to bits, the sides of it in some alley somewhere.  But I have hope.  Rob Hanson told me to send him the pieces, and he’d see what he could do with it.  He spent so much time and energy making such a gorgeous seat for the girls, beautiful glowing high visibility paint, names carefully engraved on the backs of the seats, it’s just so hard to see it so ugly.

So all in all, I’m still feeling lucky to have it back.  It sucks, for sure how hard a row it’s had.  But it only makes me want to ride more, not less.  The X will be back soon enough, better, badder, more utility than ever.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve started already on your next seat! I’ll get some more done tomorrow and over the weekend, so it won’t be as long as last time, or at least I hope so. Put the salvaged stuff in the mail to me, and I’ll see what I can do with it to make Roundabout 4.5.

    Reply

    • Posted by roanokecarfreewithkids on August 22, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Hey, Rob, You are awesome! I can’t send anything until after this “case” is closed. The detective said to leave the seat as is for evidence in case it goes to court. They’ve asked the families to pay for damages, b/c criminal charges won’t be pressed as I have no eye-witnesses, and the boys said they just found it in the alley. grrrrr. Anyhoo, don’t worry about it yet. I’ll post pics soon, to show the damage. Chris

      Reply

    • Posted by roanokecarfreewithkids on August 22, 2009 at 11:21 am

      Thanks for thinking of us! Yes, Burgerville got wise, and I can’t wait to see what the bicycle drive-thru looks like! This is on the roots radicals group too b/c of course, she’s hauling with an Xtracycle! :)

      Reply

  2. Hi Chris! I can’t believe someone stole the xtracycle–it’s not the least obvious looking bike around :) I’m so amazed to find car-free folks in Roanoke, I’m hoping to get back to that life soon (was car-free in Atlanta for 3 years). Just need to get my mountain legs first!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

