20 Things I Love About Bike Commuting

The raccoons, opossums, deer, and fox families watching me in the morn

Neoprene booties and gloves for the rain/cold

Feeling like a ninja on bike in a balaclava

Feeling like I’m riding in a dream in early am fog

The climbs getting easier

The irony of almost being hit by a deer

Cars who watch out for me

Trying to get into my 3rd ring in the front & realizing I’d been there

Running over a snake but not hurting it

Blinky lights and a down low glow

Waving at familiar faces on the ride home

The smell of bacon on Frontage Road in front of hotels at 6am

Muscles in my legs

Arriving to work stress free

Leaving school to work through the stress by bike

The smell of skunks at play on Northside High School Road (I know that’s weird, but I really do like it)

Miles under my belt (600+ :))

Downhills with no stop signs

That my husband helps make it happen, thanks honey!

That it means I get to talk about bikes and biking more!

7 responses to this post.

  1. This is a rockin’ list, and way to go on the miles! I’m a little terrified of the winter to-come, but it’s folks like you that help put the fun back in commuting.

    Reply

    • Posted by roanokecarfreewithkids on October 19, 2009 at 12:47 am

      Such a nice thing to say. I’ve been meaning to post that for awhile now. Reasons keep stacking up for why I love the commute!

      Reply

  2. So glad you posted here. I was wondering how it was going.

    Reply

  3. Nice list, and thanks for putting that out there–although I do chuckle a bit at your chilly weather-related items b/c cold here in Los Angeles is about 50 degrees. I wish I could break out the balaclava more often just as you say, to feel like a ninja. I’m still a bike ninja though, balaclava or no balaclava. Any more reasons to type balaclava? Not for now.

    Reply

  4. Great post, thanks for making my day. :)

    Reply

  5. Ya! Now this really is quite a beautiful rendition of why a pile of us ride! You Rock! :-) lb

    Reply

  6. Posted by Beth on October 23, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Thought I was the only ninja. Now I am a ninja with a pink helmet to match my hair. I love my bike commute. Love commuting now that I have my xtracycle I feel so special As I cruise down the highway. And stress just melts away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

