Friends Make it Work

Today I picked myself up by my bootstraps and got in touch with some folks who can help me:

Rob Issem is my bike guru and mentor.  He is leading me on the path to visibility, safety, and ability.  With good recommendations, I’ll soon be a bright spot on the road with gals in tow.   He and pal Ian have generously offered their time to give the current tandem set-up the thrice over, making it my workable haul.

Bruce, at Roanoke Natural Foods Coop, is wonderfully supportive of all things ecological and offered sponsorship in the form of free delivery of groceries, spreading the word, and general friendliness of this effort. 

Wes and Dave at East Coasters are awesomely helpful bike-dudes (I know, it goes without saying…)  Wes is helping me hookup with Xtracycle, and Dave is donning my bike with lights.  I shall glow, day and night!!!

Homestead Creamery is dropping off the dairy for the chilluns, and I’ve done all my shopping via internet. 

The girls are booted up and we’re off to puddle jump, then hold our afternoon read-a-thon, our minds a little more at ease.

Thanks everyone!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by john john on June 11, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    i love your blog and your carless project! thank you for sharing. have fun!

    Reply

  2. Posted by rob on June 12, 2009 at 1:14 am

    whenever i can help you or anyone wishing to go-by-bike i’m fullfilling a dream of mine – so thanks to you Isak and the girls 🙂

    Wes and the gang at east coasters have been part of everything of done or achieved in cycling and i love that they’re now part of your team (i knew they’d want to be)!

    the founder of extracycle is Kipchoge Spencer, he’s got a band called Kipchoge and the Ginger Ninjas that’s fantastic. they tour by bicycle with a bike powered sound system. check them out when you have a chance! http://www.gingerninjas.com/

    Ian, his wife Pamela and their daughter Ava live so near you all – I hope you get to connect soon, I’m sure you’ll become great friends and you and Pamela can go on rides together! You both ride Paragons too.

    the bicycle is so many things – among them a incredible connecting and community building tool / toy 🙂

    have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

