The Two-seater for the Xtracycle

 The Tandem is not a good wet weather ride for us.  I’m still awaiting my very awesome Xtracycle.  I’m still also looking for a commuter bike to attach it to.  And trying to figure out where everyone will sit.  But I think I have a terrific solution:   Rob Hanson of Maryland is building me a two-seater to fit on the snap board of the xtracycle!  Hopefully, it will look something like this:  Verrrrrry coooooll!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_YAWFPeCbI9U/SPjQ6JKgj6I/AAAAAAAAADc/W1KR3OIJoKs/s1600-h/DSC03308.JPG

http://web.mac.com/kate.robhanson/Site/bikes.html

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by john john on June 19, 2009 at 12:10 am

    that looks really cool. great job, thanks for sharing

    Reply

  2. Posted by roanokecarfreewithkids on June 19, 2009 at 10:00 am

    It is SOOOOO cool, (well, and really goofy, but I’m a parent, and goofy is really good, too:)) That paint job is phenomenal, but I think I will have something more low-key, black and red to match bags. The girls will look lovely in anything. Thanks for reading, and I’m loving this project.
    Chris

    Reply

  3. Many interesting examples on the Xtracycle Gallery… click on “kids” in the tag cloud to see what folks have come up with.

    http://www.xtracyclegallery.com

    Reply

  4. Posted by locus on June 24, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I’m happy to hear of other Xtracycle owners using theirs for hauling two kids. Like Rob and many others, I’ve equipped my Big Dummy with a wooden double kid seat (handmade by my wife’s Uncle) to cart my two boys (4 and 2) around the Capitol Hill neighborhood in DC. It may be hard at first–the additional weight of the children added to a heavy wooden seat make for a heavy bike. However, you will get stronger. Your kids will have a blast, too.

    Best of luck on your everyday adventure!

    Scott
    Washington, DC

    Reply

  5. Rob just sent us your link! I’m so glad that you found him via our blog and I hope that your seat works well. We really love ours, though we have yet to actually use it for two (the upcoming occupant of the second seat is only 2 months old right now, so he’s needs to grow some before he tries it out…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

