Mountain biking to the Great American Backyard Campout

The Great American Campout sponsored by KIVA was a terrific event, and I had a mini-vacation away from hauling children around by embracing the surrounding singletrack on Roanoke Mountain.  In fact, I was able to ride from my home up the mountain by a secret route (my dearest says he thinks it’s hiker only, so I’ll keep it hush-hush).  The smooth cherry singletrack made for a lovely descent this morning when we packed up camp–we were the only ones who stayed the night!

The fam made the Times, at least in pictures.  Those are my bike legs and my headless child and husband in the background, and my two full-bodied children in the bottom pic!  I’m gonna have to do a better job of filming my ride, so I apologize for the lack of footage here.  I’m excited about the news that Roanoke Outdoors is trying to increase support for Roanoke’s outdoor adventure abilities, and to broadcast it as a tourist destination for that reason by having a film festival of outdoor adventure.  My dearest recommended that I get back on the trail with a camera on my helmet and get some shots and video of my ride yesterday, nice as it was.  I know you want to see it, so let me get out there.  Happy Riding!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by john john on June 29, 2009 at 12:23 am

    i like the new layout! are you talking about video? i hope so. great work, thanks for sharing- jwj

    Reply

    • Posted by roanokecarfreewithkids on June 29, 2009 at 8:04 am

      Thank you. Just playing around with available stuff. Yes, Isak recommended that I try to get some video footage of the rides that the girls and I do over a period of time, put it together as a short, and send it over to the Roanoke Outdoor guys for their coming film festival celebrating the area. Great idea, just need to mount something so I can keep both hands on bars. 🙂 Thanks for reading! c

      Reply

Leave a Reply

